A little Saturday night on Sumday night

I had occasion to venture out of the suburbs into downtown Auckland on Saturday night. The occasion? I was asked to video a concert by the New Zealand Youth Brass Ensemble – a group that my younger son co-founded with another of his trumpet playing friends.

The concert was held at St Matthew-in-the-City, one of the older majestic stone churches of Auckland. I encourage you to check out the website here. For many years (30 or so, in fact) it has been host for the Auckland Rainbow Community Church, an interdenominational congregation.

The concert featured young brass players from the New Zealand Youth Brass Ensemble, a group of talented brass players who have recently graduated, are undertaking undergrad study, or have recently left secondary school. The concert was very enjoyable – featuring a memorable rendition of Gerschwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” through to Richard Strauss’ “An Alpine Symphony”. (Which, aforementioned son played both piccolo trumpet and the church’s pipe organ – from one of the smaller instruments to the largest).

If you would like to hear some of this wonderful music, please see their Facebook page.

Anyway, this is a roundabout way of introducing a few phots of both the inside and the outside of the church.

I was thinking of venturing out and about for some more nightime photography, but even at 9:00 p.m. it was getting chilly, and I didn’t really have the right clothing.

I hope you have had a good weekend, and the coming week is good to you.

2 responses to “A little Saturday night on Sumday night

  1. I really like the nighttime photography! It’s probably down to the inner gothic wannabe within me, but nevertheless I think it’s super cool! Hope all has been well(?)!

    • Thanks for dropping by – it has been a while. I see you have been looking at uni – physics and maths! A good combination. I have been busy, life sometimes gets in the way. I hope your exams are now well and truly over, and you can relax a little and enjoy summer. Then settle down again when your academic year begins. I hope you like my latest nightime shots. (I had a bit of fun by the roundabout).

Leave a Reply

