Happy New Year

Wishing you all a very happy and prosperous year for 2017.

Have you set any goals or made any resolutions? (please feel free to make a comment)

With the arrival of the New Year, we tend to reflect upon what was in 2016, and ponder what may be in 2017.

Overall, 2016 was a good year for me – I achieved much personally and professionally.

I missed a couple of goals – but still have time to complete them.

I was particularly pleased with grading to 2nd Degree in Taekwon-Do (after a break of a few years), and am looking forward to working towards my 3rd Degree – hopefully around March – May 2018, when the appropriate time (2 years minimum) has passed to ensure I have gained enough proficiency in the art.

Professionally, I gained a work related tertiary qualification, and was satisfied with my achievement of learning in my 50’s. I am not sure of I will look at further study this year, or just look at workplace professional development. I still have time to decide!

I am looking at making sure that I regularly get out and about to enjoy a bit more photography. I have set myself the goal of completing The Photo Argus 2017 Photography Challenge. There are 50 items on the list (even although they say there are 52, I will have to make 2 up) – will it take me a year to complete?

So, to welcome the New Year, I got up nice and early (5:30 a.m.), and headed down to one of the local beaches (Mellons Bay), and took a few shots of the dawn. This is a beach from my boyhood – my family lived here from 1968 through to 1985. I have fond memories of summers walking 10 minutes to the beach for a swim. Here are a couple of the shots:

Sunrise

Looking towards the 1st sunrise of 2017.

North West end of Mellon's Bay Beach.

North West end of Mellon’s Bay Beach in the early morning light.

Goodbye 2016. We lost a lot of my youthful idols – David Bowie being one of the foremost. I grew up listening to his music through the 70s – and into the 80s & further.

Roll on 2017 – I am looking forward to any opportunities you may bring!

Wishing you all the very best for any challenges you may face, and the strength to succeed. may you be enriched with the love of family and friends, and be blessed with much happiness.

As always

Live, laugh, love!

One response to “Happy New Year

  1. Congratulations on meeting your work and Taekwondo goals! I think it’s so cool! Quite a few people I know do some form of martial arts and they all talk about the benefits. 🙂
    My goal is to plough successfully through the exam season this summer. I am a firm believer in the “you get what you deserve based on how much you put in” thing and I am determined to work hard!

Leave a Reply

