Around Wellington

The weather wasn’t suitable for much today, but here is a few shots from around Wellington

Public toilets:

Public Toilets

Art and function

Memorial Cross:

Memorial Cross

… laid by Queen Elizabeth II circa 1954

Art under a Cable Car trestle:

Under bridge artwork

Under bridge artwork

At the New Zealand School of Music:

Art at NZSM

Art at NZSM

Some of the thousands of steps around Wellington:

Terrace Gardens

Terrace Gardens

Live, laugh, Love!

 

 

23 responses to “Around Wellington

    • We passed one young woman (or should I say she passed us?) running up the hill. I said to my wife “she’s after a Kylie Bum” (after the divine Miss Minogue), & my wife said “she’s already got one!” I know what you mean! No hills in Riga, then? 😉

      • I probably should say that my wife & one of her best friends were training for the Auckland (Half) Marathon & whenever they did hill work, it was always “think of getting a Kylie bum”. Now it’s a long standing joke. 🙂

      • Keep the wine – added weight training, plus you can keep your hydration up. And if you topple over, you’ll just laugh 😉

      • Omg – just been doing the clothes shops, and now even my wife is chuckling at the leopard print! And we noticed a fair bit of it. Could have almost thought we were in downtown Riga, but then all the shop staff greeted us with a smile and cheerful conversation. Has to be Wellington! Do you miss it?

      • I did really like Wellington actually! I considered staying but in the end, decided it was just too far away. The four guys I lived with had a tendency to explode the microwave in the middle of the night as well 😉
        Glad you and your wife had a laugh! I have to hit the shops myself today. Sigh 😉

      • By the way – have you heard of “What we do in the Shadows”? A local film set around Wellington – a comedy about vampires. I thinbk you may get a chuckle out of it. 🙂

  1. I would like to visit there just to see those toilets. 🙂 That 3-eyed art was very interesting as well. Actually, all of it is beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Sun, soup and stairs | Thistles and Kiwis·

Leave a Reply

