Another angel goes to heaven

I have just reached that milestone of 150 posts, and I was going celebrate by saying a huge thank you to the bloggers I have met, who have  commented and encouraged, and helped me with exploring and expanding my thoughts, and be happy and upbeat.

However, as some may know, one of my colleagues from work was in the wrong place at the wrong time. I say colleague, but she is was also a friend.

Blessie “disappeared” after work on Saturday evening, within the short distance of about 600 metres between a bus stop and her home. Her body was discovered this morning (Tuesday).

Not only has this had a devastating effect on her immediate family, her extended family at work has been devastated as well. And I say family, because our sales team of 40 or so is a very close knit little unit – and this also extends throughout the whole company. Yesterday, Monday, was unsettling, but we still had hope. Today, our worst fears were confirmed. It has been a hard day working at the office, but as family we have been there for one another. And the company has been supportive of us, and Blessie’s family.

Our phones were switched to the overflow mode (diverted to other departments), and sales targets went out the window, and we have been encouraged to be there for one another, and we have all been supported through this as we need – with counsellors, with talking to each other, with taking sales calls when we feel ready, being able to be ignore calls if needed, and with being able to support one another – and it is needed.

Blessie is only a couple of years older than me, and at 56 her life has been cut tragically short, and her family has been ripped asunder. At work, she was always ready with a smile and a joke, and a hug where needed. She was open and friendly, and would willingly help out where needed. She was only 2 desks away from me.

Blessie, thank you for your smiles each and every work day. You truly helped me to live, laugh and love every day, too. You truly were an angel on earth, I think that you are now an angel with God.

In the greater context of life – particularly with recent events in California – Blessie’s passing isn’t world shattering, but it has shattered our little corner of the world. Suzie’s post came at an appropriate time. (Please read it if you haven’t already)

If you have read this, I thank you as I am really writing this for myself, to help me come to terms with the situation and grieve. If you are interested about learning a little more about this event, here is a short newspaper article.

May your God(s) bless you and keep you safe.

Live, laugh, and most of all LOVE!

19 responses to “Another angel goes to heaven

  1. I’m so, so sorry. I was hoping you would have some good news when you said that your friend had vanished, and this is utterly horrible. My thoughts are with you and her family…

    • Thank you Suzie. Serendipity (?) about your post and its timing? It really resonated with me, as I am a firm believer in respecting others, and that no means no, and have been involved in trying to spread this message for some time. Hopefully, we can change things, even if it is just one person at a time.

  2. I can’t click ‘like’…

    Such sad news about your friend and colleague, Blessie.
    So that was your 150th post, hmm, makes you think doesn’t it.

    I will still say congratulations on that milestone; but more importantly perhaps, try to remember that your blog has afforded you the opportunity to publish this memorial to Blessie – it’s not all about nice photos etc, eh?

    SPIKE

    • Indeed – it is actually just over 150 now, but I was looking at a celebratory post. Yes it is celebratory, but in a way I would prefer not to do. But yes, I am celebrating Blessie’s life. Thank you Uncle Spike. Just as you can’t like, I can’t smile in return – just yet, but soon.

  3. Congratulations on the blog part, but in regards to Blessie, I’m so sorry to hear this. 😦
    May she rest in peace.

    • thank you! (and also for the blogging thing). Life is something very precious, and we need to take full advantage. She is now coming back to her family to rest forever.

  4. How heartbreaking for everyone who knew and loved Blessie. Deepest sympathy to her family and her work family and friends. I hope you all find strength in each other xxx

      • Women in particular, but men too. I have so many words, and may put a few down soon. Our work is really supportive. Today we have a lot of people away, and the call centre phones are still being diverted so we don’t have to talk if we aren’t up to it. Everyone is sombre, and there are many red-rimmed eyes. But, we are coping, and healing, and your comments (and others) are certainly helping me. Especially as when I look up form my screens, I see a lovely bunch of flowers on Blessie’s desk that came from an ex-co-worker. We are coping 🙂

Leave a Reply

