Ferry Ettiquette?

As some may have surmised, this week is my late shift – 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. I do this every 3rd week, and I quite like having a bit of time in the mornings to do a few odd jobs and shopping, and often the ferry trips in to work and back home are a bit more relaxed and not quite so crowded as the commuter ferries.

However, the morning ferry sailing more aften than not has lots of non-regular passengers. One thing that irks me is that, as with many other things, there is an ettiquette. The commuters and regulars follow this (but that’s another story šŸ™‚ ), but more often than not, the mid-morning sailing passengers do not.

What is it that irks me?

Queue jumping.

I often arrive down at the wharf before the ferry arrives, mainly because at this time, I have to park quite a distance away (well, like about 1 km, woe is me šŸ˜‰ ), and leisurely stroll down. Often times, I am “first” in line, and wait patiently for the ferry.

This morning, after I had been there for about 10 miunutes, about 10 people walked past the “waiting point” and crowded up the steps to wait. This causes problems for passengers disembarking, and also for the crew tying up.

I also think that it shows a state of mind that doesn’t take into consideration the needs of others, nor respect for others – “I’m just looking out for me”.

Oh well, I’m not going to let it spoil a wonderful morning!

Morning sun

Morning sun

Waiheke ferry

Waiheke ferry

 

Live, laugh, love

2 responses to “Ferry Ettiquette?

  1. I hate that too.. It’s the “I’m alright Jack.. bad luck for you” attitude.. Very disappointing.. everyone’s going to get on ..

Leave a Reply

