Awesomeness

As the evening winds down, and I relax and contemplate the day that was, import and sort today’s photos, I am again amazed at the beuty of the day, and again give thanks as to how lucky I am.

Here is some of the better shots from my morning and evening trips. After this morning’s post, I found that the day was fantstically amazing, and filled with beauty. Getting near the end of the Tamaki River, we went past Achilles Point:

Achilles Point

Achilles Point

The water was glassy, and the light was so clear (I did have a CPL filter), and the water picked up the green of the trees, mixing it with the blue of the sky

And when we rounded the point, Auckland CBD came into view:

Downtown Auckland

Downtown Auckland

With the sun directly behind, the CPL didn’t have much effect, and the haze tended to dull the colour a bit. Also, the harbour was more open and the water smooth rather than glassy.

On the way home, the 8:00 p.m. ferry departed the Downtown Ferry Terminal, and passed “The Cloud”

The Cloud

The Cloud

With the lowering sun, as we pulled further out, the SkyTower rose majestically over the city

SkyTower

SkyTower

As we swung round and headed east, the setting sun was giving golden glow and bathed the skyline with an almost monochromatic effect

SkyTower

SkyTower

SkyTower

SkyTower

(I just missed the sun behind the SkyTower)

Then, coming into Half Moon Bay ready to dock, I again had the sun setting behind Mt Wellington. Different to yesterday evening, but no less beautiful.

Mt Wellington Sunset

Mt Wellington Sunset

 

Looking back at these, I feel happy that I (think) have captured some of the beauty of today. I would be interested in comments on the “golden” SkyTower shots.

Hopefully, this post has given you something to smile about. I smiled.

Live, laugh, love.

3 responses to “Awesomeness

  1. We are encased in a deep freeze here in New England, on the other side of the world, and it is a brief joy to read about pleasures such as hanging out the laundry and mowing the lawn–how I long for those days to come!
    I enjoy your photos so much. Your sky tower photos are so interesting, the way you layered the gradations of the silhouettes of the buildings against the setting sun. I am truly envious of your commute. You are very fortunate, living where you do, and you seem wise enough to realize it.

    • Thank you Jenny! And thank you for your comment on the layering effect – more by good luck than good management. I liked the way the container crane was darker in the foreground. Funnily enough, a work colleague thought the opposite! I like your view better? Hopefully New England will start thawing out. Stay warm. 🙂 Brett.

  2. Pingback: Friday Ferry | Tripping the Light Fantastic·

Leave a Reply

