Getting ready for summer

Life has been busy recently, and I haven’t had much of an opportunity to get out, camera in hand. Sometimes, you just have to take opportunities where you can – like my commute to work. For those whom have read a bit of my blog, you will know that this involves a 30 minute ferry trip into downtown Auckland. Every day is different, with tides, light, weather, and boats presenting a unique scene every day. Sometimes I am able to capture a little slice of this life.

On the way to work I was enjoying another wonderful spring morning filled with sunshine. The ferry trip was, as usual, stunning, and the waters of the Waitemata Harbour were, indeed, sparkling. A few weeks earlier, the company I work for wanted to celebrate spring by featuring “photos of spring” taken by staff members. I had taken a photo of the water between Piers 3 & 4 of Auckland’s Downtown Ferry Terminal with my little Canon A-495 point and shoot. This time, I was lucky enought to have my EOS-650 with me.

Pier 3 / 4

This is bewteen Pier 3 and Pier 4 of Auckland’s Downtown Ferry Terminal, with Discovery 360’s “Tiri Cat” in the background.

Yet again, I was reminded of how lucky and blessed I am.

In the background, you can see the “Tiri Cat”, one of the ferries I catch. This is operated by Discovery 360 , and is used to take people out to visit Tiri Tiri Matangi Island. Tiri Tiri is a wildlife (mainly bird) sanctuary, and is a wonderful destination for photographers. I am planning a visit here very soon. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

