Exploring new techniques

Last Friday evening, I decided to try something a little different, so aremed with my warm jacket, camera gear, and a small torch, I headed to a small local reserve to see what I could discover for a subject. The reserve (Crawford Reserve) used to be a bus depot that I walked past twice a day during many of my school days (a good 7 of them, anyway). Crawford Reserve was developed about 5 years ago, and this was the first time I had actually ventured there.

Needless to say, it was an unknown. I wandered down in the darkness, following a circular path, and came to a pergola, with a pair  of “posters” with a little of the early history of the district.

To cut a long story short, I set up my equipment, clicked the shutter hold on my remote, and started “painting” one of the posters with the torch.

Needless to say, I was busy concentrating on what I was doing rather than the subject, so was pleasantly surprised with the result, and the colour and content of the resulting picture.

All we need do, often, is to open our eyes!

I visited in the daylight today, and have stiched together a panoramic view of this interesting little reserve.

My first effort at painting at night.

My first effort at painting at night.

 

Crawford Reserve

Leave a Reply

